Neil Gaiman Read-Alikes

(The Sandman series, Good Omens, American Gods, Anansi Boys, Neverwhere, Stardust, Coraline, The Graveyard Book)

Neil Gaiman is a fantasy writer with a tendency toward the gothic, resulting in novels, short stories and graphic novels that abound with fantastic imagery and unique, complex characters.  His work is also full of allusion and intelligence, drawing on many ideas and philosophies from different mythologies.  Woven together these elements create stories that are astute, philosophical, amusing, and very readable.

If you enjoy Gaiman’s work, you might like:

Terry Pratchett (if you enjoy British humor, you might like Pratchett, who writes fantasy novels set in the wonderfully realized Discworld.  Start with Good Omens–which he and Gaiman co-authored—Mort or The Colour of Magic.

Alan Moore (fans of Sandman in particular should try Moore, who shares Gaiman’s wit, dark sensibility, and intelligence.  History and true crime fans might try From Hell; sci-fi readers might enjoy Watchmen; literature buffs, mystery fans, and adventure readers might like The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen)

Kurt Vonnegut (readers who appreciate Gaiman’s characters, use of the surreal and/or the religious satire of Good Omens should try Vonnegut—start with the short story collection Welcome to the Monkey House or the novel Cat’s Cradle)

Clive Barker (those who liked The Graveyard Book or enjoy the horror elements in Gaiman’s books might like Barker’s Mister B. Gone)

Susanna Clarke (readers who enjoy fantasy and well-realized characters might enjoy Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell)

Christopher Moore (like Clarke, he’s a bit different than Gaiman, but shares a gift for the surreal, Everyman protagonists, and wonderful humor.  Try Practical Demonkeeping to start)

One response

  1. Read-alikes are a great idea. Thanks for the suggestions!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: