Terry Pratchett Read-Alikes

(Discworld series, The Wee Free Men, Only You Can Save Mankind, Good Omens)

Pratchett is a fantasy and humor writer best known for his series set in a world very much like Earth, called the Discworld.  The characters are quirky and dimensional, the dialogue is witty and hilarious, and jokes, references, and allusions abound in Pratchett’s books.  He also uses the Discworld and its traditions to comment on our world, whether it’s about philosophy and spirituality (the Death subseries), the police force/military and the social order (the City Watch) or feminism, literature, and storytelling (the Witches).  Humor is the key element of Pratchett’s books, along with his cinematic pacing and well-developed characters.

If you like Terry Pratchett, try:

 Kurt Vonnegut (if you like satirical sci-fi and fantasy with lots of genre-blending and plenty of poignancy, try Breakfast of Champions or the short story collections Welcome to the Monkey House and Bagombo Snuff-Box)

John Connolly (readers who especially like the stories with the Wee Free Men or Granny Weatherwax might enjoy The Book of Lost Things, and Good Omens fans might like The Gates)

Christopher Moore (if you enjoy lots of humor and allusion, and/or are a fan of the Death books, you might try A Dirty Job)

 James Morrow (fans of Pratchett’s social commentary and exploration of spirituality as well as his intelligent humor might enjoy The Last Witchfinder or Towing Jehovah)

 Neil Gaiman (if you enjoy the wonderful fantasy and characters in Pratchett’s books, you might like American Gods or Good Omens, which the two co-authored)

 Douglas Adams  (readers who enjoy Pratchett’s brand of humor and his use of social satire might like The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy)

Jasper Fforde (if you like literary allusion, quirky characters, and plenty of social commentary set in a world very similar to our own, you might try the Thursday Next series.  Start with The Eyre Affair)

 Geoffrey Chaucer (really! The foible-ridden characters, quirks and social commentary in the Discworld books owe a lot to The Canterbury Tales.  Try Peter Ackroyd’s retelling, with the tales told in modern vernacular)

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Terry Pratchett Read-Alikes

  1. Is there a Terry Pratchett fan base in Maine? Monmouth Community Players will be presenting “Wyrd Sisters” adapted from the book at Cumston Hall Oct. 26-Nov. 4. We’re looking for places to get the word out!

      • Fabulous! Is there a way to email the audition announcement to you as well? They’re coming up July 22-23. It may be a drive for people there, but some may find it worthwhile.

      • Feel free to send it along–I’m afraid I can’t guarantee that it will go up on our bulletin board, as it’s really used for flyers for nonprofit events, but I can certainly see what I can do.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s