Bruce Alexander Read-Alikes

(Sir John Fielding Mysteries)

Bruce Alexander is the author of a series of historical mysteries set in London in the 1770’s, with the blind Sir John Fielding (an actual person and founder of the Bow Street Runners) as his central character.  The stories are told by Jeremy, Fielding’s assistant, protégé, and later ward, written as though they are memoirs of his days working with Fielding at the Bow Street court.  The books are rich in period detail, stylistically evoking the era. 

If you like Bruce Alexander, try:

David Liss  (if you like historical mysteries set in 18th century London, Liss is a good choice, with his easy style, period detail, and cameos from historical figures and events, try his A Conspiracy of Paper or A Spectacle of Corruption)

 Ross King (if you enjoy the excellent period details, style, and descriptions of Alexander’s books, you might like Ex Libris, a literary mystery set in 1660’s London)

 Emma Donoghue (if you read Alexander primarily for the setting, you might give Donoghue’s historical fiction a try.  Slammerkin is a novel based on actual events in 18th century London, with wonderful atmosphere and historical details)

 Sir Arthur Conan Doyle  (the style, action, humor, and, of course, detective  in the Sherlock Holmes stories might appeal to Alexander’s fans.  You might want to start with The Hound of the Baskervilles or the collection The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes)

Anne Perry  (her William Monk mysteries, set in Victorian England, might appeal to those who enjoy the moody thoughtfulness of Sir John.  Begin with The Face of a Stranger)

Robert Lee Hall  (if you like the setting of 18th century London as well as a real person as the detective, you might enjoy Hall’s series starring Benjamin Franklin. The first is Benjamin Franklin Takes the Case)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s