Marie’s Not Reading This

Lots and lots of blogs and websites present a feature where they talk about the TBR (“to-be-read”) pile.  Those ominously swaying stacks on your coffee table, the scribbled list on a napkin you carry around in your pocket, your “to-read” virtual bookshelf on Goodreads, they all count.  Your TBR Pile consists of the books you have on-deck, the ones you’ve been meaning to get to, the ones you’re going to start soon.

so-many-books-gif
Marie at home.

I haven’t really got one of those.  What I do have, though, is a Not Reading This pile.

I’ve talked about this before.  I’m not saying I’m not reading these books because I don’t like them.  I’m actually hoarding them because I like them so much.  I read a chapter or two here and there of each, and just cycle through the pile as the mood strikes me.   I’m particularly bad at this when it comes to books I own.  There’s an entire shelf of books in my office containing books that all have bookmarks in them.

So here are the books I’m not reading.  Or just barely reading.  The list is in descending order based on how long I’ve been working on them.
The Complete Stories of Flannery O’Connor by Flannery O’Connor
The Provincial Lady in America by E.M. Delafield
The Price of Salt by Patricia Highsmith
Something From the Oven: Reinventing Dinner in 1950’s America by Laura Shapiro
The Shape of Snakes by Minette Walters
The Crooked House by Christobel Kent
Dancing in the Dark: A Cultural History of the Great Depression by Morris Dickstein

In my defense, those first two (which, incidentally, live on that shelf I mentioned above), are really nice nightstand reads, ones to keep close and dip into as more of a comfort kind of thing.  The others…I have no excuse besides the simple fact that everything just looks so good.

I’ve also been reading Dancing in the Dark pretty hard, even though it’s taking me a while.  Book club is coming up, so I have to focus!

In closing: I hope you accept this list in lieu of actual content.  A proper post will be forthcoming.  I’ve just got a lot I’m not reading.

–Marie

 

Leave a Reply

