Posted in Booklists

Marie’s Vacation Reading List II

It feels so decadent and self-indulgent, but I’m doing it anyway: I’m taking a week off from the library.  And only a year since my last vacation!  Wow!  (Click here for last year’s reading list, by the by)

Wow.  I just read that post over again.  2014 Vacation Me sure was ambitious.  Look at all the chores she did.  All the driving around!  Not this year, thanks. The 2015 me-model is dedicated to hanging out with friends and family at the lake, swimming, eating food, playing board games, taking walks, and reading books.

Yes, no matter the weather, no matter how much the lake beckons, no matter what kind of cocktail my mixologist pals cook up, no matter what, I am going to sit and relax and read on this vacation.  At least part of the time.  And here are the books I’ll be working on while I’m away:

Winesburg, Ohio by Sherwood Anderson

The Pickwick Papers by Charles Dickens

Music For Wartime: Stories by Rebecca Makkai

The Insect Farm by Stuart Prebble

The Complete Short Stories by Flannery O’Connor

Albion: The Origins of the British Imagination by Peter Ackroyd

The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters

Romantic Outlaws: The Extraordinary Lives of Mary Wollstonecraft and her Daughter Mary Shelley by Charlotte Gordon

A mix of old and new, books for the blog and books for book club, books just for me, first-time reads and re-reads.  Novels and short stories and nonfiction.  The more I think about how many books I’ve got on standby and how excited I am to read them the less I want to turn my attention back to the actual work I must get done in the next two days.

Can vacation start now, please?  I haven’t been this ready for summer vacation since I was a kid on the last day of school.

Summer's too short to show any kind of dignity.
“Summer’s almost here!  What kind of sprinkler do you like?!”

See you all in August!

–Marie

Author:

The Camden Public Library brings people together to Read, Connect, and Discover. Here at the CPL Readers Corner Blog, our librarians offer book suggestions, book reviews, read-alikes, and more! Discover new reads, Connect with librarians and other readers, and Read a great book!

Leave a Reply

