Surprise Smekday!

Surprise!  The Smekday Meme has come around again!

This time around I have nobody to blame but myself.  Maybe it’s spring fever, maybe it’s boredom, maybe it’s the reading challenge, I don’t know.  But I’m having one tough time sticking with a book lately.

Here is the state of my Current Reading pile, as ever in descending order of where the bookmark is:

The Boilerplate Rhino: Nature in the Eye of the Beholder by David Quammen
The House of Small Shadows by Adam Nevill
The Secret Wisdom of the Earth by Christopher Scotton
The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco
Disclaimer by Renee Knight

David McCullough’s John Adams gets an honorable mention, from where it’s sitting bookmark-less and forlorn and about-to-be-read-sometime-soon on the bookshelf.  Judging me.

So who’s getting benched for the rest of this reading season?  I’m afraid it’s the immensely promising The Last Four Days of Paddy Buckley by Jeremy Massey. 

Paddy BuckleyI got two chapters in, and enjoyed what I read.  The set-up is great: A widower who works at a funeral home accidentally kills a notorious mobster in a hit-and-run…and then has to oversee the funeral arrangements.  The voice is wonderful, and I’m really into Irish fiction lately.

But alas, it stayed too long on the bedside table.  Time to set it free.

Stay tuned, we’ll see how well I do with the rest of this current reading.  We’ll measure success rate by comparing the number of Smekdays to the number of actual reviews I post in the coming weeks.

–Marie

Leave a Reply

