Posted in Book Prizes

2015 Edgar Awards

Belated drumroll please!

The winners of the 2015 Edgar Awards were announced on April 29th.  The Edgar Allan Poe Awards are given by the Mystery Writers of America, to honor the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction, and television each year.

This year’s nominees are interesting in that there are only a couple of straight-up mysteries–most of these titles fit more comfortably in Crime, even edging into the Horror end of the spectrum.

For instance, the winner for best novel was Stephen King’s Mr. Mercedes, about a suicidal ex-cop who receives a letter by someone who claims to have killed eight people by running them down with a stolen Mercedes.  I haven’t read this one myself yet, but knowing King’s style this novel probably has a fairly dark and suspenseful tone to it.  Though I could be wrong!

One mustn't judge a book by the raining blood on its cover, after all.
One mustn’t judge a book by the raining blood on its cover, after all.

You can learn more about the Mystery Writers of America by clicking here.




The Camden Public Library brings people together to Read, Connect, and Discover. Here at the CPL Readers Corner Blog, our librarians offer book suggestions, book reviews, read-alikes, and more! Discover new reads, Connect with librarians and other readers, and Read a great book!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s