SURPRISE!! Simply Books! June Meeting

Aw.  My book club members are all grown up and having meetings without me.  It makes me so proud!   I think this group’s cohesion and friendship is both awesome and fantastic.  Fawesome.  Awetastic.

The group didn’t want to break for the summer, so a couple of our members graciously opened up their home for a meeting.  And other member is planning to do the same for August.  These folks are really great.  I can’t say that enough.

What really got me misty-eyed, though, was that one member was Acting Marie in Marie’s Absence, and took notes!  Wow!  So I’ve got a book list for you, so that you can see what the members of Simply Books! shared in June.

Here’s what the Simply Books! readers read in June, flying solo!  Click the title to get to the Shelfari page for each book.

 This Life is in Your HandsOne Dream, Sixty Acres, and a Family Undone by Melissa Coleman

What Alice Forgot by Lianne Moriarty

Lady’s Maid by Margaret Forster

Time Present and Time Past by Deidre Madden

The Right Car by Josephine Waitstill Swan

Are You My Mother? by Alison Bechdel

A Sting in the Tale: My Adventures with Bumblebees by Dave Goulson

Camp Century City Under the Ice by Walter Wager

Why We Make Things and Why It Matters: The Education of a Craftsman by Peter Korn

Dancing at the Rascal Fair by Ivan Doig

My own share for the month would have been the recent novel Fourth of July Creek by Smith Henderson.

Keep on reading, friends!  I’ll look forward to seeing what the list is like next month!

 

–Marie

Leave a Reply

