Posted in Book Reviews

Marie’s Reading: “Severed” by Scott Snyder and Scott Tuft, art by Attila Futaki

severed03_coverAs readers of this blog know, I’m a big horror fan.  I think the graphic novel is a brilliant medium for horror.  You get everything that prose can do to tell a story combined with everything pictures can do to tell a story.  Together, these elements make a whole which tells a story in a way distinct from its separate parts.  In the case of Severed, the art and storyline work together to build a terrifying world.

In the American Midwest of 1916, there’s a mysterious man who is constantly on the road, and constantly hungry for flesh.  There’s a boy named Jack Garron, out to find his father.  And there’s the moment when their paths cross.

The hardback volume of Severed contains the entire run of this independent comic, and I devoured it in a couple of hours.  Then I went back to savor the storyline and the beautiful art.  The storyline is old-school horror–there’s a monster, he’s out there, and he might be after you.  It’s quite straightforward, but wonderfully emphasized and embellished by the dialogue style and the art of Attila Futaki.

I have to say that it’s Futaki’s work that makes Snyder and Tuft’s already solid story even better.  It’s dark, it’s gritty, it’s realistically rendered and beautifully colored, even in the goriest panels.

If you’re a fan of Stephen King and/or Joe Hill (particularly the latter), I think you would really enjoy Severed.  I noticed many common themes between this story and IT and NOS4A2for instance.  Readers who like Snyder’s style from Batman or American Vampire will find everything they like about his work here.

–Marie

Author:

The Camden Public Library brings people together to Read, Connect, and Discover. Here at the CPL Readers Corner Blog, our librarians offer book suggestions, book reviews, read-alikes, and more! Discover new reads, Connect with librarians and other readers, and Read a great book!

2 thoughts on “Marie’s Reading: “Severed” by Scott Snyder and Scott Tuft, art by Attila Futaki

  1. I have yet to venture into the world of graphic novels. It’s not that I lack interest, just that there are so many other books that I feel like I have to get through first. I have 30+ queued up on my Kindle alone… *sigh*

    This one does sound interesting. Maybe I’ll pick it up sometime, once I’ve gotten my current to-read list cut down to size 🙂

Leave a Reply

