Posted in Booklists

Marie’s Top 10 of 2013

It’s getting to be that time again, friends.  We’re nearing the end of the year, and so it’s time to compile our Favorites Lists for 2013.  As is traditional.

Here are my favorite books of the past year.  Please  note these are not necessarily books published in 2013, just ones I read in 2013.

Enjoy!

3.BookApricots1. Tomorrow There Will Be Apricots by Jessica Soffer
One of the very best character explorations I read all year, and certainly among the most gorgeously written.  You can find the blog post I wrote about it here.

americanvampire12. American Vampire (series) by Scott Snyder
I came for the Stephen King story arc in volume one.  I stayed for the great characters, the intricate storylines, the gorgeous and suitably gory artwork, and the continuation of the vampire myth.  Here’s the relevant post.

Provincial 23. Diary of a Provincial Lady by E.M. Delafield
At long last, I have found the perfect readalike to Bridget Jones’s Diary.  And she was hiding back in 1931!  This is a delightful read for those who enjoy humorous stories set in Britain, told with a British sensibility.  At the same time, anyone anywhere who juggles house and family, cats and employees, and everything in between will see the humor here.  Hit up Goodreads to learn more in advance of a post!

97818466826674. Howards End Is On The Landing: A Year of Reading From Home by Susan Hill
I get the urge to curl up in my reading chair for hours and immerse myself in fiction just thinking about this book.  It’s cozy and warm and intelligent, and I gushed a lot more here.

deathofbees5. The Death of Bees by Lisa O’Donnell
I somehow neglected to write a blog post about this one.  I can’t believe myself.  I’ll have to do a throwback to 2013 special post next month.  It’ll be the perfect excuse to re-read this grim, compelling, and poignant story of two sisters from a poisonous environment who try to make the best of things.  Learn more at Goodreads, if you like.

Panopticon6. The Panopticon by Jenni Fagan  (My Favorite!)
I reviewed this one here.  As of December 27th 2013, this remains my favorite book of the year.  I can’t gush anymore here than I already did in my blog post!

forgvie7.  Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick
Another one I somehow neglected to post about.  The plot is this–at the end of the schoolday, Leonard plans to kill a classmate and himself.  Before that happens, he has four gifts to give out to the people he considers true friends.  Leonard narrates the story, and his voice is confused, hurt, angry, and scared.  All the time you’re reading, you’re struggling to understand, and hoping against hope as the moment of truth ticks closer.  It’s a powerful book, I’m moved just recalling it.  Learn more at Goodreads.

rotters8.  Rotters by Daniel Kraus
I laughed, I cried, I gagged.  Here is my review of this compelling, deliciously twisted, and heart-twisting book.

the asylum9.  The Asylum by John Haywood
What does Marie love?  Marie loves Gothic horror, mind games, suspense, plot twists, secrets, and a big reveal.  The Asylum has all of these, brilliantly rendered.  I blogged about it here.

bellman and black10. Bellman and Black by Diane Setterfield
Marie is also a sucker for folktale-esque stories about death.  Setterfield’s writing is compelling and lovely but not overwritten, it is straightforward and clear and moving.  She builds a world around you while you read.  Here’s where I gushed about it.

Honorable mentions go to The Woman Upstairs by Claire Messud, The Humans by Matt Haig, and Night Film by Marisha Pessl.

I’ll catch you all in the New Year.  Looking forward to all of the exciting new books to be read in 2014!

–Marie

Author:

The Camden Public Library brings people together to Read, Connect, and Discover. Here at the CPL Readers Corner Blog, our librarians offer book suggestions, book reviews, read-alikes, and more! Discover new reads, Connect with librarians and other readers, and Read a great book!

Leave a Reply

