Posted in Booklists, Uncategorized

Books to be Thankful For

Credit where credit is due: this was Miss Stefanie’s brilliant idea.  Thank you, Miss Stefanie!

Here we are, Thanksgiving Eve!  I never know quite what to do with Thanksgiving, you know?  There’s always that quiet breather somewhere in the day where you can take a few moments to reflect on your blessings.  But mostly it’s the cooking and the eating and the parade.  Truthfully,  I’ve always treated it as the kick-off to the Christmas season, the big inaugural feast to usher in a solid month of parties, cookies, ham, chocolate, and Rankin-Bass specials.

Anyway, we here at the library thought it would be nice to share the books that we’re thankful for.   We shared a few on our Facebook page.  Here are mine, in honor of the day:

Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding
I love this book to bits.  It’s hilarious, ridiculous, and a comfort read of the highest order.  I read it several times a year and it never gets old.  I’m thankful for the endless entertainment it provides.

The New England Cookbook by Eleanor Early
When my husband and I were dating, we picked this up at an antique store.  Now it’s on my cookbook shelf for keeps.  It’s currently out of print, but unlike many cookbooks of its vintage not many of the recipes are dated.  I use it all the time, I’ve written in it, and it’s the best resource I’ve found for the kind of things I like to cook.  I’m thankful such a resource exists!

Inside of a Dog by Alexandra Horowitz
I’ve never read it.  It’s just that, whenever it comes across the desk or is on display, I see the title and can’t help completing the sentence with: “It’s too dark to read.”  I am thankful for the very little things.

groucho-marx-on-reading-21664922
“Outside of a dog, a book is man’s best friend. Inside of a dog, it’s too dark to read.”

I’m thankful for books by Christopher Moore, Terry Pratchett, Jasper Fforde, Sarah Waters, Adam Rex, Jon Scieszka, and Neil Gaiman.  Actually, I’m thankful that all of these people exist!  And that they decided to write books.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!  The library will be closed tomorrow for the holiday, but we’ll be open bright and early on Friday as usual!

–Marie

Author:

The Camden Public Library brings people together to Read, Connect, and Discover. Here at the CPL Readers Corner Blog, our librarians offer book suggestions, book reviews, read-alikes, and more! Discover new reads, Connect with librarians and other readers, and Read a great book!

Leave a Reply

