Marie’s (quickly) Reading: “Fairy Tales from the Brothers Grimm: A New English Version” by Philip Pulllman

grimm

Many apologies for the delay in updates!  With the holidays fast approaching and with other life commitments, I’ve not done much reading lately.  There’s a very large pile of books at home waiting for my attention, and I must admit I’ve only had the mental and emotional capacity to really attend to one of them: Fairy Tales from the Brothers Grimm: A New English Version by Philip Pullman.

I don’t know about you, but I really enjoy folktales and fairy tales.  They offer such insight into culture, societal concerns, desires, and fears.  So when I saw that Philip Pullman had published his own translation of some of his favorite Grimm stories, I snatched it right up.

This year marks the 200th anniversary of the original publication of Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm’s Children’s and Household Tales.  Pullman’s introduction offers fascinating background about both the Grimm brothers and the literary and scholarly scene of their time.  I especially appreciate the scholarly notes after each tale, which talk about different versions of each story and how themes are echoed in similar tales worldwide.  There’s also an extensive bibliography for those of a scholarly bent.

Whether you are a student of folklore or simply want to explore a wonderfully readable collection of Grimm’s fairy tales, give this one a try.  It’s great for dipping into and then putting down again, and there’s something delightfully comforting about reading these age-old stories, new story-telling voice or not.  You can pair it with another great book we own, The Annotated Brothers Grimm.

I hope to have a Christmas book review for you before the holidays.  I’m currently re-reading another favorite, and I hope to have the review up soon.

–Marie

P.S. Diane also reviewed this book!  See what she thought of it here!

Leave a Reply

