Posted in Book Reviews

Marie’s Reading: “The Sweet In-Between” by Sheri Reynolds

I read one of Reynolds’ other books, A Gracious Plenty, a few months ago, and was immediately hooked on her writing style and characters.  Fans of the Southern Gothic tradition should definitely give her books a try.

This novel is less on the Gothic side than A Gracious Plenty, focusing instead on a girl coming of age in a dysfunctional home environment.  Kenny’s father is in prison, and so she lives with her father’s girlfriend and family.  Kenny feels alone, without a home or identity or family of her own.  All of this is complicated by her struggles with her sexual identity, a conflict that makes up a large part of the book and feeds into much of the great metaphor and imagery.

Reynolds does very well with struggling, imperfect, and, for lack of a better word, damaged protagonists.  Kenny’s voice is clear, and the understatement of the prose makes her problems that much more sad and sympathetic.  And yet, there’s a confidence there, as well as love–even though this is a dysfunctional family, it’s plain that they’re a unit and that they care about one another.  We want Kenny to find herself somewhere safe, even if it’s not perfect.

Readalikes:

Dorothy Allison’s Bastard Out of Carolina has a lot in common with The Sweet In-Between in terms of content, setting, and main character. Other Southern writers also jump to mind, such as Flannery O’Connor and William Faulkner–O’Connor’s A Good Man is Hard to Find might be a good choice, as would Faulkner’s The Sound and the Fury.  Another great Southern story with a wonderful sense of place and themes of family dysfunction is Amy Greene’s Bloodroot, about several generations of one family in the mountains of Appalachia.  I also thought of Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides for readers interested in stories about coming of age while dealing with questions of sexual and gender identity.  Middlesex also offers a sort of near-mythic quality that fans of Reynolds’ writing might appreciate.  Last, those who don’t mind a touch of the gruesome and disturbing might really like Gillian Flynn’s books, particularly Sharp Objects, which is about a journalist who thought she’d escaped her dysfunctional childhood only to be pulled back when she’s asked to write about a murder in her hometown.


Marie

Advertisements

Author:

The Camden Public Library brings people together to Read, Connect, and Discover. Here at the CPL Readers Corner Blog, our librarians offer book suggestions, book reviews, read-alikes, and more! Discover new reads, Connect with librarians and other readers, and Read a great book!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s